Reigning champion Ash Sutton and host of iconic cars and drivers from past and present to mark BTCC’s diamond jubilee at the Classic

Silverstone Classic has confirmed a star-studded line-up of cars and drivers that will gather at the famous historic event to celebrate the British Touring Car Championship’s 60th anniversary.

There will be four Touring Car grids on Silverstone Classic’s Sunday – called ‘Tin Top Sunday’ – which will include more than 150 cars in total that have either raced in BTCC or accurately represent those which have.

See also...

The line-up will be led by reigning BTCC champion Ash Sutton who will be fulfilling a childhood dream racing a 1996 Honda Accord.

‘I’ve never been involved in the Silverstone Classic, but I know it’s a great event and I’m excited about competing there,’ said Sutton. ‘Getting behind the wheel of a Super Tourer is obviously a fantastic opportunity.'

Stellar Silverstone Classic line-up to mark BTCC 60th anniversary

‘I grew up watching touring cars in that era and that obviously had a big influence on me. These were highly engineered cars, so I can’t wait to see what the boys had to play with back in the ‘90s.’

There will be in total six BTCC champions in attendance – as well as Sutton the event will feature John Fitzpatrick (1966 champion), John Cleland (1989 and 1995), Tim Harvey (1992), Rickard Rydell (1998) and Jason Plato (2001 and 2010).

Sutton will be competing against two of the former champions in the Super Touring Race, Rydell is returning to the racetrack in his title-winning Volvo S40 exactly 20 years after taking the crown in 1998 while Cleland – a boyhood hero of Sutton’s – will be racing the Vauxhall Vectra he first campaigned in 1997.

Harvey will also relive history as he’s contesting the Historic Touring Car Challenge in one of the V8-propelled Rover SD1 Vitesses in which he first made his name back in the late 1980s.

Fitzpatrick, the oldest living BTCC champion, and Plato, the series’ most victorious driver with 98 victories, will be fronting a Diamond Jubilee BTCC Anniversary Parade on Sunday.

Other notable cars joining the parade include Doc Shepherd’s title-winning Austin A40 from 1960, Graham Hill’s race winning Jaguar Mk2 from 1962, Frank Gardner’s title winning Ford Escort from 1968 and the Volvo 850 Estate which will be reunited with its original driver Rydell.

In addition a large number of past and present BTCC racers will be racing in the Classic including Jeff Allam, Ian Flux, Jason Hughes, Rob Huff, Karl Jones, Steve Soper, Sam Tordoff, Patrick Watts and Nick Whale.

A special photo call will take place in the International Paddock immediately after the second Super Touring showdown at 3.45pm on Sunday.