Two-time WRC champion and Pikes Peak record holder Walter Röhrl will be reunited with his winning S1 E2

This year’s Eifel Rallye Festival will celebrate the famous Pikes Peak Hill Climb, with two Audi Sport Quattros and a Ford RS200 already confirmed for the two-stage event.

Previous editions of the festival have been dedicated to six decades of rallying and to the Group B era. The July 19-21 event held later this year in Duan, Germany will honour the notorious Rocky Mountains hillclimb.

Following the banning of Group B from the World Rally Championship, many cars competed on the 20km course in the United States.

Entries already confirmed include two works Quattros entered by the Audi Tradition museum. The marque won the hillclimb an unmatched six times in a row between 1982 and ‘87.

The 1985-winning Sport Quattro, driven by former European Rally Championship rally winner Harald Demuth, will feature alongside the 600bhp ‘87-winning Sport Quattro S1 E2 ‘Pikes Peak’. Although still unconfirmed, it is expected that double WRC champion and Pikes Peak record-holder Walter Röhrl.

A twin-engined Volkswagen Golf that entered in 1985 and ‘86 will be driven for the first time since by its original entrant, ERC champion Jochi Kleint.

Also confirmed is a modified Ford RS200 that competed at Pikes Peak as recently as 2014 and will be driven by Mark Rennison, with a replica 1987 Peugeot 205 T16 set to appear.

Otmar Anschütz, chief organiser of the Eifel Rallye Festival and president of the MSC Daun, said: ‘We are really impressed by and proud of the Pikes Peak entries we have received so far. But we are still in talks with further teams and there is a good chance that we can welcome some more precious cars that competed there.’